Shootin' the Breeze

and random targets

In Remembrance

Today is my father’s birthday.  He was born in 1924.  In a previous post, Something for Dad, I mentioned that he epitomized The Greatest Generation that Tom Brokaw wrote about.  I also proudly quoted the therapist who told me, “They don’t make guys like that anymore.”  They don’t.

Dad was born at home, in a house by the park in Craig, Nebraska, the youngest of four.  He had one brother and two sisters.  In his family, he was called Johnny.  Craig was a very small town, maybe 300 people.  Johnny’s graduating class was very small, less than 20 as I recall.  He graduated at age 16 because they did not have kindergarten.

He went to college for one year, then worked for the Union Pacific Railroad for a few months until he was old enough to join the Army in WWII.  In 1945, at age 21, he had served in England when it was being bombed, then France after D Day, and Belgium for Battle of the Bulge.  After Germany surrendered that year, he was in California on his way to the Pacific theatre when Japan surrendered, so he got to go home instead.

He went to college at Omaha University on the G.I. Bill.  He graduated in 2  years.  He went to school more than full-time, worked part-time, and even fit in varsity tennis and lettered.  He met my mother at O.U. and they married in March 1948, before he turned 24. 

The yearbook in 1948 included the goals of each senior.  Most wrote about career plans.  Johnny wrote something about being a good husband and father.  He fulfilled both.  Actually, he exceeded his goals.  He was great, not just good.  He was the best.

His first job out of college he stuck with for 35 years.  He worked at a bank, starting as a teller and rising to V.P. and Trust Officer.

He was married to my mother for the rest of his life, from 1948 until 2003.  They got to celebrate their 50th anniversary.

Without describing the many events during those many years, I ask you to use your imagination.  What you imagine about a devoted family man is likely true of my Dad.

It was a privilege to be his son.  

Happy Birthday, Dad!  I love you — always!

Single Post Navigation

12 thoughts on “In Remembrance

  1. Well said. I know that Nebraska is a big state, but who knows? My father was from Cozad Nebraska and went overseas in 1944. He enlisted in the National Guard in 1940, mustered to the army 23 December 1940. He was part of the Infamous 110th Quartermaster Regiment, also know as, The Yoo Hoo regiment. Anything sound familiar? Your father IS quite a bit younger than my father. I know it is a long shot, but stranger things have happened.

    Thank you for your father’s service.

  2. Darn it Cowboy…I needed a tissue for this one.
    Thanks for sharing!

  3. What an exceptional tribute, sir. Indeed, they “don’t make them like they used to.” And I certainly fall into that description. Your parents stuck it out, through thick and thin, until death finally separated them physically.

    You are an extremely fortunate son.

  4. They really don’t make guys like your Dad anymore. It is sort of cliche to say that these days, but I believe it’s true. He reminds me of my Dad, who was also born in 1924 and served in the Marines in WWII. I lost him in 2005 and think of him every day. You are so fortunate to have had a Dad like yours. Thanks for posting this.

  5. My father also was a banker. I can also share what you have written. It is a blessing to have a role model that is so deeply stuck into you. Alive or has left the scene a good father still looms large in our mind’s eye. I congratulate to you for having had such an influence from him.

Leave a Reply

