Shootin' the Breeze

and random targets

Miss Sugar’s Brew

For those of you who have read other posts of mine, you know that Miss Sugar is my trophy wife and that Miss Sugar feeds birds.  Today, I want to report on my involvement in bird feeding in a very tangential aspect of her hobby.

I try to be a good husband.  Sometimes, I even make the coffee.  Yesterday, as Miss Sugar was sleeping, I got up and did just that.  I know how to put the beans into the grinder.  I know where to put the filter in the coffee maker and also where to pour the water.  I had to think about it, but I remembered to put the ground coffee into the filter.  I pushed the correct button and the water heated up, ran through the coffee in the filter, and dripped into the waiting coffee pot.  So far, so good.

Then I tackled the more difficult tasks.  I selected two cups from the cabinet above the coffee maker.  Good planning. I had to open the refrigerator to find and remove the milk. I cleverly poured milk into each cup, just the correct amount.  Then, because we like to mask the taste of actual coffee, I needed to find the sugar.  I did not find it immediately.  Sometimes Miss Sugar keeps food items in cabinets, which is very inconvenient for me because I must either remember which cabinet or go exploring.  Nope, it wasn’t where the plates are.  It wasn’t in the silverware drawer, but I was glad to be reminded where she keeps silverware.  It wasn’t by the cereal boxes (which I think would be an excellent place).   Where did that woman put the sugar?

At last, I found a container of liquid labeled sugar concentrate.  Aha!  That seemed better than sugar granuals from a sugar bowl or bag of sugar.  Maybe I could get by without a spoon, although I now knew where the spoons could be found.

So I poured sugar concentrate into each cup and covered the milk and sugar concentrate with coffee.  I figured it would all mix together as I walked upstairs to the bedroom, where I would surprise Sleeping Beauty.

My grateful wife thanked me for the delicious concoction that I had delivered.  We sat in bed savoring the sweet beverage.

Miss Sugar jokingly inquired, “Why does this taste funny?”  What a card!  I took it as a compliment.

“I couldn’t find the sugar bowl but I found the bottle of sugar concentrate,” I explained with pride.

“That is what I feed the hummingbirds,” she revealed.  “It contains special nutrients and vitamins especially for hummingbirds because they are high energy creatures.”

I felt all fluttery inside.

We had a very productive day!

It says “Just Add Water” on the bag above, but coffee works too.

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Miss Sugar’s Brew

  1. You crack me up.

Leave a Reply

