Shootin' the Breeze

and random targets

Dancing on Television

Only celebrities, some of whom I have heard of, are allowed to compete on Dances with the Stars.  However, be not dismayed, the general public may audition for America’s Got Talent.  Certainly not all contestants are dancers, but dancers are allowed to audition.

One of the contestants who went fairly far into the rounds of competition was a young man who was a pole dancer.  His background story was that he had started ballet lessons as a child.  His pole dancing also involved some gymnastic moves that required strength.  He was praised by the judges for his talent and artistry.  His costumes were “mahvelous.”

I wondered, as I watched, if the poor kid has a father.  Did his father ask him if he wanted to try out for Little League Baseball or take ballet?

I remembered a conversation that I had many years ago as my own father and I watched television.  My father, an Army veteran and college athlete, after watching a performance by a young man dancing on a variety show, turned to me and said,

“Son, I know I always told you that you can be whatever you want to be.  Now I am going to take that back.  Please don’t be a dancer on TV.  That kid just embarrassed the entire male gender.”

So, I have lived by those words of my father.  And that is why you won’t see me dancing on television, with or without the stars.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Dancing on Television

  1. If were not careful, real manhood could end up on the endangered species list. We’re not there yet, thank God, but that is the direction we are going. Where is true leadership today? In our government, and families. Where are the male patriarchs that are respected by their family because of the leadership, provision, and protection they have faithfully given? God made men to be men, and he made women to be women. In days gone by that statement would have been answered by a duhhh, and “no kiding”! But today? Confusion and perversion abounds. I’m proud to be a man, and I love my woman. (Almost 36 years now.)

Leave a Reply

