Shootin' the Breeze

and random targets

Snow Day III

cowsonroad

It’s April 17th, which in many parts of the country is Springtime.  Right?

This is the third day of a big snow storm.  We are still snowed in.  Schools are closed.  Many roads are closed.  County offices closed at noon.

Miss Sugar, aka Miss Texas, grew up in Texas, as you might guess.  Although her parents had a condo in Frisco, Colorado, she was snow-deprived most of the time, except during family vacations to Colorado to ski, during which ski vacations she actually hoped for snow.

Therefore, being married to me is, I believe,  like being on a permanent vacation for Miss Texas.    Here at Cross Creek Ranch, she does not have the demands of her former life as a professional model and the burden of television appearances.  Out of the spotlight, she is living the dream in “cooler” surroundings.   She can go snowshoeing in April.  Try that in Texas.   Now she has resided in Colorado for about half of her life and is no longer snow-deprived.

Here at our private resort, we do not have a ski lift but we have cross country skis if Sugar gets tired of the snow shoes.  We even have “apres ski” stuff to do.  We can sit in the “lodge” by the fireplace, watching the snow come down.  If we were drinkers, we could even sip wine in ski attire, provided we could get out to drive to the liquor store.  Instead, we have artesian well water, right out of the tap instead of them little bottles.  We have a hot tub (really) that I have been meanin’ to fix.

I reckon lots of beauty queens would love to hang out here, but they ain’t allowed because I picked Miss Texas.  I don’t mind getting snowed in with her.  And she loves being here with me.  She hasn’t said that in so many words today, but I can see it in her eyes.  She knows she is one lucky trophy wife.

And I know that I married way above my station in life.  I am way out of my league.

But you don’t hear me complaining.

Like I said before, below:

https://cowboylawyer.wordpress.com/2012/12/08/the-parable-of-the-pickup-and-the-porsche/

https://cowboylawyer.wordpress.com/2012/06/05/my-station-in-life-23-2/

https://cowboylawyer.wordpress.com/2012/06/25/dallas-revisited-18-2/

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Snow Day III

  1. OK, I have to admit that the term “Après-ski” was foreign to me. So, I quickly did a WiKi on it and it sounds like a good thing…. Can you get a good cup of coffee at one of those events? With that special Nectar sweetener? Just asking….. Take Care and God Bless 🙂 Kenny T

    • Yes, at Apres Ski events one may sip Chai Tea or Grande Caramel Mocha Coffee in lieu of alcoholic beverages. Plain coffee is frowned upon in some social circles at the Ski Lodge, but we allow it at Cross Creek Ranch, especially with a nice hummingbird sugar concentrate sweetener.

  2. Elizabeth on said:

    Loved this story.

Leave a Reply

