Shootin' the Breeze

and random targets

Tooo Coool: Living La Vida Loca

Dawn’s early light gradually filled the bedroom.  As I laid there in bed, gathering my thoughts, the woman next to me stirred without waking.  I admired her face, pretty in repose.  Then her long, dark lashes fluttered open, revealing her brown eyes, inherited from her Sicilian father.

The woman awakened and realized immediately that she was not lounging on a Mediterranean beach.  Neither was she on the Gulf of Mexico, nor any beach, nor anywhere warm.  She was in a different kind of paradise.

She mumbled something that sounded to me like, “Oooh, cool.”

“Thanks, I know.  That’s what everybody says.”  I thought she was addressing me and I needed to respond to the compliment because, well, I guess I am pretty cool and part of being cool is acknowledging admiration.

“I said that I am cold.  Isn’t there any heat?  Did we run out of propane?”

“No, Sugar.  I think we still have propane, but of course, if we don’t, they won’t be able to deliver any today due to our road being closed and the highway too.”

I continued to problem-solve.  “Maybe it’s the thermostat.  We replaced the thermo-coupler on the boiler in January so I don’t think it is that again.”  (We have hot water heat from a boiler, not forced air from a furnace.)

I was hoping that I did not need to go in the crawl space to check the pilot.  I just shut up.

Sugar went to the thermostat.  She turned it off and then back up to a higher temperature again.  We could hear the clicking in the bowels of the house.  The water in the pipes seemed to be doing something, the welcome noises of hot water circulating.

“Just a little trick I picked up,” Miss Sugar explained.

stayingconnected

Next on the agenda was brushing off the satellite dishes for our TV and internet.  It is important to stay connected with society.

There are people with electric cars who plug them in when parked in their heated garages.  My pick-up is also plugged in so you might suppose that it is electric.  I have an extension cord in the barn that plugs into a cord that hangs out of the front of my truck.  There the similarity to electric cars ends.  My truck has a diesel engine.  When it is cold, it is difficult to start diesel engines.  So the electric cord does something about heating the oil or something by a special process that I won’t explain to those of you unfamiliar with the complicated intricacies of diesel mechanics.  Just understand that plugging in the plug somehow helps in cold weather.  That is all those of you in the general public need to know.

ice3

While on the subject of physics, there is a phenomenon that causes water to become frozen when the weather is cold.  When that occurs, the animals in my care are unable to drink.  However, thanks again to technology that relies upon electricity, I plug a heater into the livestock water tank so that a magical thermostat tells the heater when to heat and when not to heat so the water does not freeze and so that I do not need to break up ice.

ice2

I love electricity.  It is of great benefit to us as we enjoy our cool  rural lifestyle.

“Sugar!  Did you pay the electric bill?”

beausnowrun

Beau, pictured above, is unconcerned about electricity.  For him, snow is fun.  Very cool!

outhouse

My friends and me going to the sauna.

ice

By the way, Sugar has some great pics at http://www.coloradoranchphotos.com.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

