Shootin' the Breeze

and random targets

Stinky Fish

swimmingbeauSugar had a great idea.  It was to take the dogs up to Red Feather Lakes, by the Roosevelt National Forest, which is just a few miles up the road from us.  It was a beautiful day on Saturday.  Sugar packed a lunch and we took off with Sadie and Beau.

We selected a spot that any sporting dog would appreciate.  Sadie and Beau are Yellow Labs.  They qualify as sporting dogs and indeed they do like lakes.  I am the one who might not.  I used to enjoy such recreational experiences until Beau came into our lives.

We did not have the place to ourselves.  There were two fishermen who had the gall to fish where we were bringing our dogs.  They had arrived before us even.  How rude.

Sugar and I politely put our dogs on leashes.  We put them on leashes but I did not keep Beau on a leash.  I wanted to, but I failed.

Beau, enthralled by the trees and the lake and the sound of ducks and whatever smells he smelled, pulled hard on the leash.  I am a big guy.  He is a big guy.  Something had to give.  What gave out was the metal ring on his collar, which was, I thought, designed as the place on the collar on which to affix the leash.  The dang thing broke.

I was left holding a limp leash.  Beau was free at last, free at last, and thankful that he was free at last.

Remember the fishermen?  So did Beau.  I don’t know why he felt welcome to swim out to them, 100-200 yards away.  The lake is large.  Beau had options.  He selected the option of bothering the fishermen.  They probably thought I let Beau loose on purpose, which of course was a wrong assumption.

I shouted my apology.  I called to my dog.  I walked out onto a penisula, far from Sugar and the still captive Sadie.

Beau met me on the “penisula” sticking out into the lake.  It was rocky walking.  And Beau allowed me to come up to him and loop the leash around his neck, like a choke collar, since the metal ring was broken.

Wasn’t that obedient of Beau?  You might think that only because you do not know the rest of the story.

The rest of the story is that I caught him as he was investigating a stinky dead fish.

You might think that Miss Sugar was happy that I retrieved our Retriever.  She wasn’t.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Stinky Fish

  1. LOL!!!! I know your feeling on this one….. I have had similar adventures!!! Take Care and God Bless 🙂 Kenny T

  2. Reblogged this on Shootin' the Breeze and commented:

    Beau marathon continues. This is another story of no repentance.

Leave a Reply

