Shootin' the Breeze

and random targets

Sunset, Sunrise

westview

The world turns.  The sun sets and rises and sets and rises.

Each day there are tragedies and there are victories.

There are births and there are deaths.

There is happiness and sadness and emotions in between.

Every day.

Two days ago the world was aghast at the devastation and the deaths caused by the tornadoes in Oklahoma.  I felt very sad watching the news about the destruction.  I was horrified that two elementary schools were leveled.  Those poor children!

Yesterday, I called the home number of a friend to see if he and his wife were coming to our John Wayne party on Saturday, as I had not gotten a response to the e-vite that we sent to them.

The wife answered.  I cheerfully asked her, like we often do in starting a conversation, how she was doing.

The usual response is something like, “Fine.  How are you?”

She was not fine.  She told me that her husband “died last night.”

While people died in the tornado in Oklahoma, he died in Colorado, of cancer.  He had told me that he was doing chemotherapy.  A few weeks ago, in our last phone conversation, he said it would be completed in three more sessions and we could get together in May when he would have more energy.

While my wife and I prepared for a party, my friend was breathing his final breaths.

His daughter got on the phone.  She had flown in from New York City, where she is attending graduate school.  She had been with her parents for the past week, for the last week with her father.  She told me the services will be Friday.  She asked me to say a few words.  Of course, I am willing to do so.  I want to show my respect.  I want to honor her father’s memory.

I will go to the funeral on Friday, which is my birthday.

On Saturday we will have our annual John Wayne Party at the ranch.  The party that my friend attended in other years.

“There is a time to be born and a time to die…  A time to mourn and a time to dance… A time to weep and a time to laugh….”  Ecclesiastes 3.

Life goes on as we each feel different emotions in ever-changing moments when the Lord giveth and the Lord taketh away.  Blessed be the Name of the Lord, Who is with us in all those experiences.

Single Post Navigation

8 thoughts on “Sunset, Sunrise

  1. AMEN! 😦 Oklahoma was sad indeed! It’s heartbreaking what happened there. There visuals are shocking. Still, so many unseen tragedies in this life and each one heartbreaking and REAL to someone . Thoughtful post!

    And just in case, HAPPY BIRTHDAY in advance. 🙂

    BTW, You mentioned going to a funeral on your birthday. I had a weekend like that a few years ago. Went to my grandmother’s internment on Friday. She died at 94. Saturday I woke thinking about my ( youngest son ) 20-something birthday, only to find a young man ( a guest at the motel I managed) about my son’s age, OD’d. Gone! I spent my son’s birthday comforting a mother who lost her only child! THAT WAS tragic and strange !

  2. My condolence to you and your friend. May God’s comfort be upon your friend’s and your family.

  3. A good friend is so hard to come by. The loss of one leaves a little hole in the universe. I try to enjoy life a little more and find beauty around me as a tribute to my lost friends.

    Thank you for stopping by my blog and enjoying my stories. I hope my silliness cheered you up a bit.

Leave a Reply

