Shootin' the Breeze

and random targets

Disposable Dads

Fathers’ Day is not a happy celebration for every father.  Some feel left out.

The marketing of Valentine’s Day probably causes many who do not have sweethearts to feel left out and lonely.  Similarly, women who long to be mothers are likely sad amidst the hubbub of Mothers’ Day, feeling left out.  Mothers who have actual children who ignore them on Mothers’ Day are even sadder for being disregarded.

Fathers’ Day is coming up.  If your father is still alive, he would appreciate a card, at least, or a call, or both if it is impossible for you to actually spend the day with him.  By the way, a text message is not sufficient.

According to the JC Penney ads on TV, all fathers will have a fun picnic surrounded by children and grandchildren, wearing new golf shirts by the new grill.  Fathers who see those ads and have that experience should feel blessed indeed.  Those who go to the empty mailbox, endure the silence of a phone that does not ring, or wait for the visitors who do not come, feel the humiliating sadness of being disregarded, disposable, and discarded.

The adult children who are too busy to acknowledge their parents should fear Karma.  What goes around might come around and they will in the future sit in their nursing home rooms hoping to not be forgotten throughout the day until, at the end of the day, they realize that no one cared enough to remember.

Single Post Navigation

13 thoughts on “Disposable Dads

  1. May I reblog this?

  2. Reblogged this on bearspawprint and commented:
    With His, Mine, and Ours Families , here is a timely reminder from the CowboyLawyer https://cowboylawyer.wordpress.com/2013/06/15/disposable-dads/

  3. Pingback: Disposable Dads « bearspawprint

  4. Do I ever agree with this! I had a friend who gave up a baby for adoption as a young teen–and never had another. She carries a double grief on Mother’s Day: no one is aware of her motherhood and she has no idea what has become of her son.

    She told me her church once did a thing for Father’s Day: all those men whose dads were alive should wear a pink carnation and all those whose dads were gone should wear a yellow one (or something like that.) One young man was bemused; his father had abandoned the family when he was a toddler; now he had no idea if his father was dead or alive. What should he do?

    I know of Dads who’d love to be a part of their children’s lives, but their exes won’t have it. And there are those of us who’ve searched for cards that didn’t say, “What great times we had…” or “You were always there for me.” If dad was abusive, why lie? I wrote a poem for my Dad that I may publish sometime, but it’s pretty sad and I don’t want to rain on everyone else’s parade.

    By all means, folks, express your love to your fathers today– after all, you’re alive because of them– but do give a thought for those who are left out of the joys.

  5. Thank you for this one. Needs to be said and those doing the ignoring need to read it… there I go again, wishful thinking!

  6. Reblogged this on Shootin' the Breeze and commented:

    I wrote this last year. It bears repeating because not all fathers experience the scenes depicted in TV advertisements.

  7. Happy Father’s Day 2014

  8. Well, look up at the sky cause here comes some rain… I’m a dutiful daughter who writes her father once a month, sends cards on his birthday, Father’s Day, Christmas. He doesn’t call or write me, nor my 3 brothers, or his 4 grand children or his 4 great grandchildren. In fact, he shows obvious disdain for any girls in the family who are ‘only’ home makers and mothers. He complains constantly, says others are ‘stupid’ and generally makes life miserable for my brother who over sees his care. No one wants to be around him. I could throw some hail in with this rain, but I’ll stop here. Today, I tried to make my husband’s Father’s Day special.

    • I am sorry that your father is so unappreciative. You, however, remember him with cards even when he does not deserve it. That sort of makes my point. If even poor fathers are remembered, how much more painful for deserving fathers who are not remembered.

  9. I appreciate this blog!! I once wrote a blog post about disposable dads that my husband asked me not to publish …. He didn’t want the backlash. I’m glad you didn’t get censored!!

Leave a Reply

