Shootin' the Breeze

and random targets

First Kiss

My parents first kissed in the backseat of a car in Omaha, Nebraska, on a double-date, while the car in which they were passengers was driven east on Curtis Avenue, between 31st Street and 32nd Street.

I was not present at the time, except as a gleam in my father’s eye, so my information did not come from my own memory.  I learned this fact in an interesting manner.

As a bright and observant young child, I noticed that every time we drove down Curtis Avenue, Dad would quietly smack his lips with a kissing sound and Mom would do the same in response.  Every time.  Maybe I did not have to be so precocious to notice after the millionth time.

So I asked, “Why do you two always make a kissing sound on this street?”

The answer is what I wrote in the first paragraph.

“Yuck!”  I had not yet evolved into the romantic person I am today.

Even though it seemed like too much information for a grade school boy who was not interested, yet, in the facts of life, I suppose it gave me some security to see that my father was still crazy about my mother as his girlfriend, as crazy as that seemed to me at the time.

My parents were married for 55 years, until death did them part.

Maybe Dad was onto something.  It does not seem so yucky anymore.

Single Post Navigation

11 thoughts on “First Kiss

  1. Awwww. Yes! Onto something!

  2. While I do not know certainly of their age, were they members of the Greatest Generation? Indeed – me included – we needed to learn from them the secret to a long marriage. It was a cute story of their first kiss. 🙂

  3. Angie Mc on said:

    Thank you for sharing this darling story. My parents are married 50 years and they met at a dance. To this day, they disagree, in a joking way, about the details of that night. It fills my heart with love to picture them dancing together then and admiration that they’re still dancing together to this day. Definitely onto something.

  4. Reblogged this on Shootin' the Breeze and commented:

    I dusted this one off cuz I talked to my mother yesterday. We both miss my father.

  5. deaconmike51907 on said:

    Reblogged this on News With a Catholic View.

  6. Love never fades! Thank you the reminder!

  7. 55 years! They were definitely onto something.

Leave a Reply

