Shootin' the Breeze

and random targets

The Arrogance of Pride

A few days ago, I wrote about Victimhood as a Choice.  My point was that we usually do not choose what harms us but can choose how we react.

This is on a topic that is the opposite of seeing oneself as a helpless victim.  It is about taking credit for blessings that are simply gifts from God.  This is sort of the flipside to victimhood.  It is about undeserved pride.

Are you smart?  What did you do to accomplish being smart?  Ask the same about being pretty or athletic or healthy or even wealthy.  You inherited your genes and maybe inherited your money.

Our talents and opportunities come from God.  Just like having choices about reacting to bad things in life, we have choices about reacting to good things, to our blessings.  We can use them, share them, or bury them and waste them.  Even if we use those talents and opportunities, it is wrong to brag about accomplishments that we achieved with the gifts from God as if we are self-made.

My Gramma who lived next door to us was a blessing in my life.  I did not pick her.  I was just lucky enough to be her grandchild.  I have many stories about Gramma, but today I want to write about a song she taught me, called Little Robin Red Breast.

Little Robin Red Breast sat up in the tree.

Seeing there are cherries,

“They will do for me.”

“Fly away,” said Tommy.

“Don’t you think I know

“These are Daddy’s cherries

“And you better go.”

“Did your Daddy make them?”

Sang the Robin red.

“No,” said little Tommy,

Hanging down his head.

“Come back, little Robin

“You may have a few.

“There’s enough for Tommy

“And for Robin too.”

God gave us all some cherries to share.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “The Arrogance of Pride

  1. Reblogged this on Shootin' the Breeze and commented:

    This is a companion to Victimhood as a Choice.

  2. Wow! I love the song…and lessons taught by Granmas and Granpas are invaluable! I hold on to them so tightly…and to their memories…
    Your Gramma was right…we all have the cherries to share!

Leave a Reply

