Shootin' the Breeze

and random targets

Beau Helps Sugar

I regret that I cannot publish this as a photo-journalist.  Unfortunately, I was not present during the events described hereinafter involving my wife, Sugar, and dog, Beau.  This is what we scientists and anthropological researchers call an anecdotal narrative.

It is really Sugar’s anecdote, which she described for me as I listened with grave empathy.  I am writing this narrative about her experience in order to help mankind and add to the knowledge of the world for this and future generations.  Many cultures pass down stories as a way to keep an historical perspective.  That is my noble purpose.  My intent in sharing what happened to Sugar is in no way intended to embarrass her;  rather, it is for the greater good of civilization.

So Sugar was preparing our RV for a trip (while I was in town practicing law) and one of her self-appointed tasks was to stick a hose down the toilet, apparently, in an effort to, you know, flush out the system.   She believes herself to be capable of performing this particular task without assistance.

Beau disagreed.  He hastened to assist.  He pulled on the hose, which, of course, was sticking out the door so as to be attached to the water hydrant.  He pulled it suddenly and with enthusiasm characteristic of Yellow Labrador Retrievers.

Miss Sugar was ill-prepared and, consequently, handled the situation poorly.  The way she tells this amusing anecdote, the hose emerged from the toilet and sprayed Sugar in the face.  She did not consider the hose which came into contact with her face to be entirely sanitary due to its recent placement down the toilet and into the tank which is used to hold, well, you know what it holds.

I have carefully explained to Beau that his involvement with hoses, which has been the subject of other posts about Beau, is unacceptable.

His remorse seemed feigned and insincere.

I just hope that Sugar has learned her lesson.  I explained to her that she made a big mistake by not putting Beau in his pen whenever she intends to use a hose.

Her appreciation for my wise counsel seemed feigned and insincere.

My work as a mediator is completed.  From now on, they will have to work it out between themselves.

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Beau Helps Sugar

  1. Labs….are not always so lovable! Great post (sorry, Miss Sugar).

  2. Reblogged this on Shootin' the Breeze and commented:

    The Beau marathon continues. Here is another life lesson that Beau taught my wife, Sugar. I offer it so that you may avoid the problem she encountered.

  3. deaconmike51907 on said:

    Reblogged this on News With a Catholic View.

Leave a Reply

