Shootin' the Breeze

and random targets

Uniformity

Sugar took me to Whole Foods.

It is well-organized.  The staff was very friendly and helpful.

We got a few groceries and even some food on plates for a meal in the pleasant dining area.

It was in the dining room where I fully realized that I was out of uniform.

I was wearing jeans and cowboy boots.  The other four men eating there each had on khakis and sandals.  One pair of khakis was long.  Two were baggy shorts.  The fourth khaki garment was what in the olden days might be described as pedal pushers or beachcombers.  They were 3/4 length and rolled up a bit more.  They would not look good with cowboy boots.

I was not the only one with facial hair, but I did not fit in for a different reason — all but me had shaved heads on top.

Fashion-wise, I did not ‘fit in” for this visit to the store, but I have a funny feeling that when I return every man will be wearing cowboy boots.  I bet every person in Whole Foods noticed me.  I stood out.  It did not look like anyone in this crowd has cowboy boots.  I believe I altered their collective fashion consciousness.

No one verbally articulated admiration for my attire at the time, but I could see the admiration in all their eyes.  The power of my personal presence led all in attendance to an epiphany about how a man ought to look.  I believe I broke down khaki barriers and introduced a different kind of footwear as well.  Free at last, the men of Whole Foods can now see beyond the previously required uniform.

Sure, there is more to this than just my good looks.  They probably recognized me as the new appointee to the Rural Land Use Board and aspire to themselves reach political glory.  To follow in those footsteps you can’t be wearing sandals.  That is a job for someone in cowboy boots.

P.S.  It might even dawn on them that they can wear a cowboy hat until the hair grows out of them shaved heads.

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Uniformity

  1. Im hoping you had your conceal and carry as well..

    You need at least two pair o’ boots
    1 work boots
    2 dress boots

    I have an extra ones I’ll call em my slippers, too comfortable and worn to throw out

Leave a Reply

