Shootin' the Breeze

and random targets

Uncle of Champions

beaumodel

We just learned that our “jail bird dog,” Beau, whose origins I have described in a post of that name, has a relative who is a champion show dog.

A client of mine, who breeds and shows Labrador Retrievers, informed me with pride that her stud dog won “Best in Show” last weekend.  Then she asked how Beau, who was one of her puppies and came to us by an indirect route from her kennel, was doing.  Those of you who regularly read my blog know how Beau is doing.

I did not have the heart to tell her of my diagnosis of Beau as criminally insane, especially so as not to pour cold water on her big news.  So I changed the subject.

I asked whether Beau is related to the champion show dog.  I was told that Beau’s sire is the grandsire of the newly crowned champion.

So, I calculate that Beau is an uncle of the champ.  I think Beau’s market value just went up.

Please contact me if you are interested in purchasing a used Yellow Lab whose nephew is a really nice dog.  All inquiries will be kept confidential.  (I don’t want Miss Sugar to know of my marketing plan.)

Single Post Navigation

7 thoughts on “Uncle of Champions

  1. I suggest taking bids.

  2. Hilarious! I mean, what a cutie! That face? That face is angelic. . . .

    • That angelic face chewed my authentic peace pipe. He is a character! Did you see his picture in Sheik of the Sheets this week? He lives a rich fantasy life. He had a run-in with a skunk, gets chased by cows, has played with coyotes, and, yet, the cat chases him away from his own food bowl.

Leave a Reply

