Shootin' the Breeze

and random targets

Practically a Millionaire

Warren Buffett, famed investor, is the 4th richest person in the world or the U.S.A. or one of those places.  He heads an investment company called Berkshire Hathaway.  People who bought stock in that company when it was just getting started have gotten a good return on that investment in investing with Mr. Buffett.  They became millionaires if they hung onto those initial shares.

In those early days, my father was a young banker in Omaha, where Mr. Buffett lives.  He actually took an investing class from Mr. Buffett.  So, you can see that I could have been very rich today if only dear old Dad had gotten in on the ground floor by buying stock in Berkshire Hathaway back then, in the sixties.

You are wondering why my father failed to take advantage of that opportunity.  How could he do that to me?  How could he deprive me and the rest of our family of those riches?

The answer to that question is that Dad did not have enough money to purchase the minimum amount of Berkshire Hathaway stock and he did not believe in borrowing to invest.  I think he needed $10,000, which was probably more than his annual salary back then.  My parents’ first house only cost $14,000.  That puts things in perspective.

I don’t hold it against Dad because I don’t want my kids to ask why I did not invest in Apple or Microsoft.  Same answer.  It was more important to buy groceries.

Still, in hindsight, we could have been very wealthy.  If only….

Actually, we are very wealthy if we don’t base it on counting money.

Single Post Navigation

17 thoughts on “Practically a Millionaire

  1. You have my sympathies about all those lost riches; I know exactly where you’re coming from. Some e-mail I wrote won six million pounds in some British contest just a few years ago. I was so thrilled, I showed DH the link that said, “Click here to claim your winnings.” And he wouldn’t let me. (His exact words were, “DON’T YOU DARE!”) So we’re still poor, too.

    Just think, your dad could have mortgaged the house….

  2. I sure do love your writing. I can hear the drawl in your voice. hahaha I would love to sit around a campfire and listen to your story telling.

  3. A sure fire way of becoming a millionaire – start out a billionaire and buy an airline.:) Good post.

  4. I like this!!!!!!

    Take Care my Friend and God Bless 🙂 Kenny T

    I may re-blog this one Saturday….

    …here’s a Tip—- By MS&D (Morning Story and Dilbert) 🙂

  5. I am Miss Sugar.I suppose around our campfire this weekend, we’ll simply roast marshmallows. But if I’m lucky, he might tell me one of his stories too. My cowboy lawyer certainly has the “gift of gab.”

  6. My daddy always said if you want to double your money – fold it in half and put it back in your pocket! He was a high school teacher – “dumbell math” and “auto-shop; woodshop; metal shop”. Today they would say he taught Industrial Arts. Back then, in the 50’s, 60’s and 70’s, he got all the trouble maker hoodlums who excelled when they had tools in hand. The school figured he was able to “reach” them with the tools, he might reach them in the math class! He did, and a lot of those guys are the plumbers and electricians and car mechanics we bump into in daily life. And, they surely know how to add up your bill for services rendered! I think my dad was a pretty rich guy all in all – 5 kids – 9 grandchildren -18 great grandchildren and 1 great great grandchild. If only ………….He made his way in life, and paid the mortgage on the house; and left it to the 5 of us. My share was 5 times what he paid in 1955….and he would still say; fold it in half and put it in your pocket today!

  7. Pingback: Rich beyond words | stitchinggrandma

  8. A lot of those guys from that generation (like my Dad, a WWII vet) did not believe in borrowing much money, and the generation before that (like my Granddad, a WWI vet) did not believe in borrowing any – and you know what…I think they were better off for it.

Leave a Reply

