Shootin' the Breeze

and random targets

For Your Own Good

My wife and I have horses.  We enjoy them. President Reagan famously stated, or quoted, that the outside of a horse is good for the inside of a man.  So, I have an idea.  It is something I might bring up at the next meeting of the Rural Land Use Advisory Committee.  When I am elected to higher office, the plan will be implemented across the nation.

Trust me, it is for your own good.  You do not know what is best for you.  You are just an individual.  I am concerned for the common good.

In the interest of the common good, everyone should have horses.  The government should require it for y’all, and that includes citizens who are allergic to horses, don’t have a place for horses, or simply do not choose to have them.  They might resent being required to have them.  Tough!  I know what they should have.  The government and I just don’t trust the general public to make such an important decision.

If you like the horse you have, you can keep it, probably.  I will decide if it is a good horse.  If you don’t have a horse, you better get one.  I will tell you what kind to get.  If you fail to comply, the government and I will punish you by making you pay for hay anyway, as a tax on the unhorsed.

My idea is not entirely original.  My program is based on a model that I learned from our present president.  Wait until I get in office.  You won’t have to worry about a thing.  I will do all your thinking for you.  For those of you old enough to remember the cartoon character Quick Draw McGraw, he said frequently to his sidekick Babbaloey, “I’ll do the thinin’ around here.”scampaction

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

