Shootin' the Breeze

and random targets

Tis the Season

It troubles me when Christmas decorations are put up before Thanksgiving.  Thankfully, it is now safe to decorate, so Sugar, my artistic wife, put up some lights while I was doing something other than putting up lights outside.  Actually, for you critics out there, I want you to know that I offered to help and my offer was declined.  Image

Instead of my help, it is apparent that Sugar was assisted by twelve drunken second graders.  I did not actually see the second graders and cannot confirm that they were drunken.  It might just be that they were unsupervised.

Image

In truth, Sugar had no help and wanted none.  She wanted to express herself in a non-conventional manner.  She did.  And she does not even drink alcohol.  I have not questioned her about hallucinogens.  It is like looking at the stars in the sky and identifying constellations.  If you look closely, you can see a CC (for Cross Creek) and a sleigh to the bottom right of the top photo.  Do you see it?  Do you see the mountains above?  Do you?  Do you see Orion and the Big Dipper?  Well, they are not there, so you are just being agreeable.  Those of us who are modern artists want to be taken seriously.  Don’t patronize us.  Well, you can be patrons of Sugar’s art by supporting it financially.  Email me about where to mail contributions.  Cross Creek Ranch is not yet a 501(c)(3) charitable entity but it definitely is a non-profit organization.

On another note, as a polite and devoted husband, after dinner, which Sugar prepared, I did my part by cutting a piece of pumpkin pie for Sugar and brought it to her, forsaking my own pie.  Beau the Criminal Labrador, noted my presence in the dining room and deduced that meant I was absent from the kitchen.  He left the dining room and beat me back to the kitchen, where he put his front feet on the counter and started eating the rest of the pie still in the pie plate.  I saw him in the act.  I saw the teeth marks across the soft pumpkin.  I screamed my displeasure.  Then I ate the rest of the pie.  Dogs’ mouths are cleaner than human mouths, aren’t they?

Single Post Navigation

6 thoughts on “Tis the Season

  1. Great Job Ms. Sugar! Looks like you had fun!

  2. Isn’t it something how you post an article about lights and whatnot, and here am I speaking of your last line.

    The pie and your dog is revealing, but I guess you already knew that. ‘What comes out of the mouth’ is far worse than what goes in said the lord.

    ‘Out of the abundance of the heart the mouth speaketh,’ a truth that puts the dog off the hook. There are some things that come out of our mouths that cannot be retracted, while the very worst of food can be eliminated.

    Good food, good talk, now there is a great combo.

    • Beau does not swear or gossip, but he does put things in his mouth that I would not put in mine, and hence the worry about eating a pie that he got to first. As a man of faith, I nevertheless took the risk. It was probably more that as a man with a sweet tooth, I could not bear to throw away the pie.

  3. Sir, we can see you truly care deeply for Ms. Sugar…searching for hours for the CC, the sleigh and the constellations in her artistic endeavor… or perhaps it was just that you took one too many hits on the football field during your tryouts? 🙂 As for Beau…that’ll teach you. The cat feeder is out there in the cold for a reason. lol

Leave a Reply

