Shootin' the Breeze

and random targets

Happy Holidays or Not

May all my politically correct friends and relatives who celebrate Christmas have a merry one on December 25th, and, for those of you who do not celebrate Christmas, please have a nice day on Wednesday.

For those who recently celebrated the Winter Solstice or Hanukkah or Ramadan, I sincerely hope that  you enjoyed those holidays, yet I mean no offense to those of you who do not celebrate such occasions either.  Allow me to point out that my own failure to celebrate the same holidays that you celebrate by no means is intended to communicate that I have any animosity towards your own religious beliefs or lack of religious beliefs nor your cultural affiliation.   And I say that in the most gender-neutral manner possible.

Also, may I wish a Happy New Year to those of you who use the Gregorian calendar commonly used in the U.S.A. as well as many other (yet not all) parts of the world!  By saying that, however, I do not mean to imply that particular calendar is in any way superior to other calendars, past or present, including but not limited to the Julian calendar, Mayan calendar and the Chinese calendar, nor even that the United States is any better than any other nation in the eyes of all despite  my personal loyalties to the U.S.A.   By acknowledging that not all persons and nations agree with my patriotism for the United States, please be assured that I respect your choice to not be patriotic, whether or not I agree with such a choice.  It is important to realize that I was born of a certain nationality with genetic characteristics that I cannot help, including race or combination of races, as well as height, hair color and eye color,  nevertheless  recognizing that others with differing genes and thus different nationalities, races, height, eye color, hair color, skin color, and gender could not choose their genetic makeup either, yet leaving for debate whether free choice exists as to sexual identity, without indicating my own views on such debate nor specifying my own sexual identity and gender preference.   And I say that from a bi-partisan perspective, without intending to offend anyone.  Rather, it is my sincere desire to enable and empower all readers to enjoy the coming year commencing on whatever date on the calendar of each person’s own choosing which designates a New Year, whether or not such calendar and the first day of the year for such calendar coincides with the calendar that I employ due to my citizenship in the U.S.A. by accident of birth.

To those folks who do not mind me saying so — Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!

Single Post Navigation

31 thoughts on “Happy Holidays or Not

  1. what brought this on

    • I am just trying to be funny in light of the political correctness stuff, such as criticism of Duck Dynasty. I simply mean that we do not all share the same backgrounds or beliefs, yet we all should be free to express our religious beliefs without apologizing to those who do not share them, and vice versa.

      • pc gone mad baa baa black sheep banned no xmas decorations in charity shop i volunteered in despite uk being a christian country . for fesr of offence. if we lived in a muslim country would they alter their religious practices or tradition for us ? fail to see how celebrating a festival would offend you are not insisting they convert

  2. One of my absolute favorite holllyday greeting posts of all times! 🙂 LOL! LOVE IT!

  3. Merry Christmas to you too! All of this political correctness drives me nuts. Can’t we all just get along? 🙂

  4. You must be a lawyer… Darn good lawyer-speak! Merry Christmas! Happy Buddha Day! Happy Duck Day! Whatever! 🙂

    • Oops. Forgot. Happy Twerky Day!

    • And also to you! Except for Twerky Day. Call me stuffy, but that is where I draw the line.

      • I believe you know I am just asking a question… In one of your replies below, you write, “…OUR Lord”. What would be the definition of “our”. I always get confused or misinterpret as I am not knowledgeable in your religion, e.g., why is it not “my”?

      • I could have written “my” Lord, but the comment to which I was replying said “the” Lord so it seemed we shared that view of Jesus Christ. Also, when I say “our” ranch or “our” dog Beau, I do not mean it is the ranch or dog of all readers, but I am indicating that I am not the only owner of the ranch or of Beau.

      • Got it… I just was never able to fully understand the interpretation of that word when used in that context as I hear it literally, i.e., broadly. It is confusing to me as “Lord” is not used in our belief. Thank you for the education and Merry Christmas (belatedly)! Best to Saint Sugar, too!

  5. Reblogged this on THE NAKED TRUTH 2 and commented:
    Some clever writing here, surely none will take umbrage…..therefore, in the name of the Lord Jesus Christ, merry Christmas.

  6. katebortell on said:

    You are hilarious, even if you weren’t trying to be. I loved this post. Merry Christmas Sir.
    Kate

  7. You know, I don’t chat much anymore, but wanted to stop in to say “hi” and Merry Christmas. I might add, it is amazing how many words it takes in order to try and not offend anyone. Phil is a man of few words. Unlike yourself, he never stood a chance. lol!

    • I have missed your comments. I wish you a Merry Christmas and blessed New Year! Let’s stay in touch and keep posting photos of Shadow. Also, I am glad your friend is now cancer-free. Praise the Lord! As I know you do.

  8. Need a “like a lot” button 🙂

  9. Merry Christmas to you and your wife.

  10. Keep talking like this and you really will get elected! Have a good Christmas.

  11. Congrats on a humorous post — well done. Belated Christmas greetings and Happy New Year sir.

  12. Al and Elizabeth on said:

    Enjoyed this so much. It was very humorous and a good read.
    Elizabeth and Al

  13. Wow! LOL! Have a wonderfully, blessed year!

Leave a Reply

