Shootin' the Breeze

and random targets

Another Funeral

Tomorrow is the funeral.

When Jamie posted on Facebook that his teenage son, Adam, had committed suicide, Sugar told me about it and I called him.  We had a good talk about Adam, about addiction, about depression, about divorce, about family, about grieving, about the Bible, and about Jamie’s faith.  He wept.  I tried to comfort him.   

I did not know Jamie that well.  We just met at a couple of Sugar’s art shows and hit it off.  Jamie’s planters made from re-cycled tires are very unique so we bought a few.  I just thought he could use a friend when I heard of Adam’s death.  I told him to call me if he wanted to talk more, but I did not call him again.

That was in November.  In December, Sugar offered Jamie a spot in her Handmade for the Holidays show at the Hilton.  He decided to not participate.

 Tomorrow is Jamie’s funeral.  He could not bear living any longer.  He hung himself in the shed behind his rented house. A lady from church told us.  She thought we’d want to know.

Jamie’s pain is something I can only imagine but not understand. God understands. May God grant Jamie the peace that passeth all understanding.

Single Post Navigation

12 thoughts on “Another Funeral

  1. I have no words….

  2. Joan/Ron on said:

    Alan, I’m so sorry. Joanie

    Subject: [New post] Another Funeral

  3. Sorry to read this. I can’t imagine Jamie’s pain and hopelessness. Times like this leave us wondering what more we could/should have done. If nothing else, you can reach out to those left behind. So sad.

  4. 😦 Very sorry to read this. Thought-provoking in so many ways…

  5. last weekend I attended a funeral of a kid that used to play at our house with my boys … 20 years old …way too young … drugs … too much pain … not enough hope … Let’s continue to shine our Light, brother!

  6. I can’t think of anything worse than losing your child to suicide … there are no words.

  7. So sad! How can a person know?

  8. This is a truly sad story. A lot of people do not understand depression. To lose a child is bad enough, but to lose a child to suicide is really terrible. It was kind of you to reach out to Jamie.

  9. Too, too sad! Lord wrap your comforting arms around those loved ones who remain.

    You never know what people are going through in their lives, or have been through.

  10. Sometimes, it takes a lot of courage to live; it is not an easy task if you are being attacked by your own feelings. And suicide indeed leaves a lot of pain – like what you are enduring. Sir, please accept my sincere condolences.

Leave a Reply

