Shootin' the Breeze

and random targets

Valentine’s Day

UsSantaFe

Sugar and I got engaged on Valentine’s Day.  I know what you are thinking — how unoriginal!  Yeah, I suppose Groundhog Day would have been more unique, but I am part of The General Public, and many of us in The General Public think it is romantic to propose on Valentine’s Day.

It is also a convenient way to remember the day of engagement for those who mark anniversaries of important events.  If we had gotten engaged on Super Bowl Sunday, for example, it would be difficult to keep track of the specific date, since the NFL has changed it over the years.  The Super Bowl used to be in January.  So if we had gotten engaged on a Sunday in January for the Super Bowl, the date would not always fall on a Sunday and if I waited for the Super Bowl in February to recognize the anniversary of our engagement, I would be sorely tardy and that ain’t good.  So, my advice to single men is to get engaged on Valentine’s Day.  It worked for me.

Sugar said “Yes” when I proposed.  That made me very happy and I am still happy.

I asked her to go out to dinner with me tonight and she said “Yes” again.  However, this year we are going on a double-date with another couple.  I don’t recommend proposing on a double-date, but when a couple is married, it is acceptable to go out with another couple on Valentine’s Day.  At least I hope it is.  I’ll let you know tomorrow.

Our wedding anniversary is in October.  We got married on a Saturday, but the date does not always fall on a Saturday, so I have to remember a specific date that is not advertised throughout America.  We should have gotten married on Christmas because it always is December 25th and is well advertised.  But I couldn’t wait any longer to marry Sugar, so I just have to remember on my own, which I do.

I will never forget that day.  I was very happy and I am still happy. 

Now here is some advice to younger men contemplating marriage. Don’t get married because you want a wife who will make you happy. If you are fortunate enough to find a woman whom you truly love, marry her to make her happy. If you are each unselfish, you will make each other happy. That is not an idea I invented. It is simply the truth as experienced by many devoted couples.

That’s what I had in mind when I said “I do.”

Modeling

Sugarnme

Single Post Navigation

18 thoughts on “Valentine’s Day

  1. This put a smile on my face. Happy Engagement-versary! And a Happy Valentine’s Day to you and your wife! 🙂

  2. Aawwww … that’s cool! … and Happy Valentine’s Day 🙂

  3. Happy for the both of you… and have a great dinner with friends! Double the pleasure, double the fun!

  4. Funny, touching, sweet all in one. Happy Day to you both 🙂

  5. You’re a sweet gentleman, sir. Until now, I had seen you as a Dick Butkis. Thank you for clearing that up… And congratulations.

  6. Reblogged this on Shootin' the Breeze and commented:

    It is almost Valentine Day again. I’m glad. I am blessed to have the same girlfriend as last year and the year before and so on and so forth. Lucky me!

  7. You are a lucky man! Have a great evening out and a great Valentines Day.

  8. We tried to get married on Independence day but nobody could marry us that day so we settled on the 2 of July, which has really worked out great 🙂 I really enjoyed your story and really loved what you said at the end “Don’t get married because you want a wife who will make you happy. If you are fortunate enough to find a woman whom you truly love, marry her to make her happy. If you are each unselfish, you will make each other happy.'” That is so true and us wives should also do the same for our husbands. Great post Happy Valentine’s Day!

    • Thank you. But you already knew that. It is the folks that do not recognize that truth about love who are disappointed. It does not work to just look at what is in it for you. That is a biblical concept, as you noted in your post quoting 1 Cor. 13.

  9. Way to go you guys. Congratulations!

  10. I like the honesty of your posts. You are a man who knows happiness, and is content or mainly so. As another married guy going to celebrate 35 years with my lovely gal on March 8 here is the tip I would share to anyone wanting a happy marriage. Just because she wears a ring should never stop you from still treating her like you did when you were wooing her. Always “date” her, treat her special, and you will always be newlyweds.

Leave a Reply

