Shootin' the Breeze

and random targets

Jesus Died For Your Sins Too

Jesus was harder on the Pharisees than he was on other sinners, such as the woman caught in adultery.  To her accusers, He said, “He who is without sin throw the first stone.”  He did not say that she was not guilty and deserving punishment, but made the point that her accusers deserve judgment as well.  And, He said to her, “Go and sin no more.”

The problem with the Pharisees was that they did not see themselves as sinners.  They believed that they were better than “the general public.”  That self-righteousness bothered Jesus, as he knew their hearts, not just that they followed rules religiously. 

Jesus praised the Publican who prayed, “God be merciful to me, a sinner.”  That is a better prayer than, “Thanks, Lord, for making me better than other men, such as that Publican over there, who does not follow the rules that I proudly follow.”

The poor Pharisees struggled, it seems, with the sin of pride.  Their attitude of superiority troubled Christ.  The woman caught in adultery was forced to recognize that she was a sinner.  The Pharisees did not see that they were sinners.

Lord, we acknowledge that we are sinners and are grateful for Your loving mercy. 

We are in need of repentance, like the penitent thief who was crucified next to Jesus, and was told, “Today you will be with me in paradise.”

This week we remember the sacrifice of Jesus Christ dying on the cross for us.

We remember the rest of the story as well — the Easter message of Christ’s victory over death. 

Single Post Navigation

9 thoughts on “Jesus Died For Your Sins Too

  1. Did you preach this little sermon aloud? You could, if you haven’t. It is applicable every day, not just Easter. 🙂

    • I just wrote it, but I am glad you like what I said. Actually, I was thinking of some people I know who say “bless you” a lot (seemingly from on high), when they should be saying, “I’m sorry.”

      • 🙂 🙂

        But mouthing “bless you” is so much easier, and it doesn’t have to come from the heart … who can argue with a “bless you”? and it doesn’t recognize personal responsibility and it takes up enough social time that there might even squeeze all opportunity for “I’m sorry” out. Very usefull tool “bless you”. 🙂

        The thing about “I’m sorry” is it also has to be more than mouthing the words, too.

        http://bearspawprint.wordpress.com/2014/03/02/apology-not/ .

        Some spoken blessings are true and real and are NOT examples of shirking. Some apologies are real, too. Just wanna make sure that you don’t think I think EVERYONE is a hypocrite. Just most folks.
        Especially Pharisees. 🙂 🙂

      • I don’t think everyone is a hypocrite either and I suppose at times I am one too, even without recognizing it. But the “bless you” from someone who has been told of causing hurt is not even responsive.

      • … Conflicted or confused and/or dense and thick-headed are not the same as hypocritical. Hypocrites have intent. Just my opinion … at the moment.

        See what your little teaching sermon did! I wasn’t even thinking about this sort of thing before I read it, and you answered my reply. 🙂 I was thinking about something else entirely!! That is what all good sermons do, they cause one to think, whether or not everyone agrees with every point.

        Thanks. 🙂

  2. Thank you, Bear, for your comments here, which I sincerely appreciate, and I also like to read your own blog.

  3. You’d make a fair preacher!

Leave a Reply

