Shootin' the Breeze

and random targets

Beau the Wascally Wabbit

I know, I know — a picture is worth a thousand words,but I did not have a camera with me to get a photo, so we will have to go the word route.  Use your imagination to picture this:

Beau is a Yellow Lab who weighs around 80 lbs.  (I do have photos of him and The Prodigal Cat).Pussy 

We have been orienting our two cats, The Prodigal Cat and The Baby Kitten, to live in the barn by keeping them in cages in a stall, hoping that by eating and sleeping and, you know, using toilet facilities there, within cages, when released, they will hang around.

Yesterday was a big step in the cat orientation because we let them out of their respective cages.  Under our watchful eyes, the cats got along and, more importantly stayed around the barn.  So far, so good.  Our plan was to continue to feed them in the cages and lock them in at night.

When my wife, Sugar, and I leave the ranch, we put the dogs, Beau and Sadie, in another stall in the barn, for their own good, where they have water and food. 

We were fixin’ to leave.  As I have been trained, I went to put the dogs in their pen, the stall.  Sadie was lounging on the deck outside the kitchen door.  She followed me to the barn.  I did not see Beau, so I called his name.  He did not come.

When Sadie and I reached the barn, I was relieved that the cats were playing in the sun.  However, I was concerned that I did not see Beau.  I looked into the stall where the cat cages are.  Beau looked back at me.  He had not barked.  He had not whined.  Maybe he was embarrassed.  He should be.

Beau was in the larger cat cage, which was designed and formerly used as a rabbit hutch which then was on a stand but now is on the floor of the stall.  It, the rabbit cage, is maybe 18″ wide and 18″ tall, and 30″ long.  It has a door on one end.  Beau had apparently pushed through the wire door, bending it into the cage, and then the door closed behind him when he somehow turned around, leaving him trapped.  The apparent motive?  Eating cat food. 

I don’t know how long Beau was imprisoned in there.  The Baby Kitty enjoyed the role reversal.  It jumped on top of the cage.  Beau was humiliated.

I called to Miss Sugar, laughing.  She laughed too, as she figured out how to open the rabbit hutch door. 

Cwazy Wabbit!

Single Post Navigation

7 thoughts on “Beau the Wascally Wabbit

  1. Cwazy Wabbit! Did you feed Beau some Trix?

  2. Reblogged this on Shootin' the Breeze and commented:

    Another adventure for Beau. The marathon continues.

  3. Ha ha ha 😄 eating cat food.

  4. onemunchingmomma on said:

    Lol! I love reading the adventures of Beau!

Leave a Reply

