Shootin' the Breeze

and random targets

To God Be The Glory

God informed Gideon that the men he had gathered were too many – with so many men, there would be reason for the Israelites to claim the victory as their own instead of acknowledging that God had saved them.

I have seen many times in my life, especially in my law practice, that my victories are not my own. 

Lest I boast, I recognize that I do not control the timing of when cases settle as it takes an agreement.  I am not the decider for cases that go to trial.  I do not control who comes to me as a client.   All these are by the grace of God. 

Even if I have a good idea, or demonstrate skill as a lawyer, I should remember that I am not a self-made man by any calculation.  And neither are you.  God gives us our minds, our talents, our educations, our opportunities.  We should not claim the victory.  We should give credit to the Lord, who made us.  I often remember that I am just my parents’ little boy, who was taken care of by them, raised by them, and then launched by them.  I am grateful to the Lord for my parents.  I did not raise myself. 

This week I got some money as fees for a case that I expected to settle at a mediation in February.  It did not.  Then the opposing lawyer was replaced by another lawyer.  Then the insurance carrier which gives authority to settle to the insurance defense lawyers got a new supervisor.  It did not settle in March or April but at the end of May.  I was glad to get the settlement check on Saturday.  It was not my timing.  It was God’s.  It was not my accomplishment.  To God be the glory!  It is not Gideon’s glory and certainly not mine.

One of my aunts used to say, “It is a sin to worry.”  When I worry about money or the outcome of cases, I remember that God is in charge.  He probably shakes His head at me, smiling, wondering when I will learn my lesson.  Don’t I remember all the times that He has provided me with what I need?  Do I think that His arm is too short?  Do I think that it is up to me?  “Silly cowboy, I’ve got your back,” God reminds me again and again.  I am a slow learner, but I do “get it.”  So did Gideon.

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “To God Be The Glory

  1. Wonderfully said!!!!!

    Take care and may God continue to Bless 🙂 Kenny T

  2. It is a lesson that I, too, have to be reminded of! Great post.

  3. God’s clock is never fast or slow; His timing is always perfect.

  4. Thank you, this is just a wonderful illustration of the power of God and how easily we might claim the victory as if God had nothing to do with the situation nor the outcome.

Leave a Reply

