Shootin' the Breeze

and random targets

The Cowboy Look

This weekend I went into a barbeque restaurant in Cheyenne, looking around for a friend whom I was to meet there.  A man sitting at a table by the front door, eating alone, asked me, “Are you a rancher?”

I said that I was, although that is an exaggeration.  I am a lawyer who lives on a ranch without making a living as a true rancher.  I was wearing a cowboy hat, jeans, and boots.  I guess I looked the part.

Then he remarked, “You ride horses a lot, don’t you!”

I told him that I have ridden horses since I was very young.  I wondered what he was getting at.  Then it dawned on me.  I had a similar conversation with a lady in The Black Hills last fall. https://cowboylawyer.wordpress.com/2013/10/01/being-checked-out/

Apparently, my cowboy legs are remarkably bowed.  Here I thought it was my hat these city slickers noticed.

I am starting to feel self-conscious.  Naw, more like proud. I don’t mind being a tourist attraction.

coffee at churchbeau feedingmodel buffOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “The Cowboy Look

  1. I’ve noticed that too around these parts, you can tell who spends a lot of time in the saddle.

  2. Knees look normal, hat looks good enough to fight over, and the coffee doesn’t look so bad either!!!!!

    Take Care my Friend and God Bless 🙂 Kenny T

    • Kenny, You look at many blog posts, encourage many writers, and share many inspirational ones. Thank you for your many kindnesses.
      Bless you, friend!
      Al

      • I can relate to your down to earth stories…. and I believe we have similar value systems…. plus I could have given you some serious competition on that 200 IM swim… I swam the breast leg on the relay back in the day…. We were the guys to beat…. Yep, good memories… Now, let’s get a good cuppa coffee…. One more thing, keep us posted on the Bed and Breakfast!!

        Kenny T

      • Kenny,
        Get the swim trunks out and check the site for National Senior Games. You can look up the information on the qualifying events at the Senior Games aka Senior Olympics for each state. Of course, you have to be at least 50 to compete in the Senior Olympics. Give it a go! It is really fun.

Leave a Reply

