Shootin' the Breeze

and random targets

Customer Service?

Miss Sugar was appalled.  Appalled I say!  She was appalled to find “evidence” of mice in our RV camper trailer.  I was appalled too.  So we decided to do something about it.  We decided to go into town and get some new mouse traps and moth balls.  (Moth balls are allegedly unpleasant to mice).

So we went to town in the pickup truck so we could bring the dogs.  I parked in the lot of a well-known chain store.  It is a store that has many departments, including clothes, electronics, jewelry, housewares, furniture, toys, recreation equipment, groceries, pharmacy, office supplies, and a garden department.  I thought maybe it would have mouse traps and moth balls.

Sugar said that she would wait in the truck with the dogs since I only had to run in and get two items.  She also asked me to get some dog treats.  I forgot to say the store has a pet food department too.  I thought I could handle it.  I did not even need a written list.

I used my intuition to find an aisle that had pest control items.  On the shelves were some poisons, such as D-Con.  To me, the drawback with poison is that the victims crawl off somewhere to die — and stink.  I prefer swifter justice by the guillotine method.  However, I did not find any old-fashioned traps.

Neither could I locate mothballs.

Aware that Sugar and the dogs were waiting, I decided to abandon my wandering and actually ask for help.  I went to the customer service counter at the front of the store.  I had to wait in line while the customer service lady helped others.  Then it was my turn.

“May I help you?” she asked.

I said, “Yes, I hope so.  I could not find mouse traps or moth balls.”

“If we have mouse traps, they would be by the poisons, such as D-Con, in aisle 23.”

“Oh, well, I found the poisons but saw no traps.”

“If we have them, that is where they would be, so check on aisle 23.”

“I did, so does that mean you don’t have them?”

“We might be out.  You could go check.”

“But I already did.”

“Well, that is where they would be.  If we have any.”

“Okay, what about moth balls.”

“Let me call on that.”

She called someone back in whatever department the moth balls were supposed to be located.  There were two kinds of moth balls shown on her computer screen there at customer service.

The lady listened to her co-employee on the other end of the phone and reported back to me.

“She says moth balls should be on aisle 31.  She looked, but did not see any.  If we have any, they would be there.  So you could go to aisle 31 and look.”

“But the person you called told you she could not find them, and she works in the department, so why would I walk back there?”

“Well, if we have them, that is where they would be.”

“Since the lady you called, who works in that department, could not find them, I would be in way over my head, so I will leave now.”

“Is there anything else that I can help you with?”

I went out the door, muttering about “anything else.”

I returned to the truck without dog treats.

“Did you remember dog treats?” Sugar asked.

“I remembered, but did not want to go through check out just with dog treats since they did not have mouse traps or moth balls.  We have to go to another store anyway.”

We went to a farm and ranch supply store.  It had plenty of traps.  There were many choices.  I asked about moth balls.  The girl showed me where they should be, if they had any.

They did not.  At least I don’t have to wonder.

P.S.  This store had dog treats.  So I got traps and treats.

P.P.S.  Next we must hunt again for the elusive moth balls.  First one has to catch the moth, I suppose.  I will use my imagination about harvesting the balls.

Single Post Navigation

9 thoughts on “Customer Service?

  1. It never ceases to amaze me that some employees don’t get that there is a tight connection between my wallet and their paycheck … falls into the category of things that make me go, “hmmmm???”

  2. Box stores are not much fun, I like our local Farm supply as they have common sense avaliable. They are more tolerant and kind to me at box stores than most folks, as I come in walking with a cane and pronounced limp, as well as snow white hair they don’t send me anywhere until they have called in on their handsets. I also look for the grey hairs in the employees, call it prejudice, but they seem a bit more up to speed!

  3. Sir, I must apologize to you. I thought you and Ms. Sugar lived in Colorado. Instead, I see you reside in California. Mothballs are banned in California as are guillotine-type Capybara killers as they are deemed cruel. Mice are given life sentences…but get out due to overcrowding.

    • Does California allow cats to harm mice? I was not told moth balls are banned, but some fear that Colorado is being Californicated. Here in Colorado mice may consume marijuana legally, at least until a study determines it is bad for mice. Traps are banned in National Parks. See https://cowboylawyer.wordpress.com/2013/06/26/the-price-is-right/.

      • LOL! Californicate only recognizes illegal cats. Once a cat attains that status, it is allowed to own guns and AR-15’s to its content as legal cats are only allowed to purchase air guns painted orange. Even so, such air guns must be registered and the owner pay an annual fee. There are no mothballs left on the shelves as perps use them in place of Sudafed to make the most recent designer drug. Besides, it keeps away moths…a twofer. ☺

  4. Pingback: Some Blog Posts I Heartily LIKE | Christine's Collection

Leave a Reply

