Shootin' the Breeze

and random targets

Lincoln Portrait

President Abraham Lincoln was assassinated 150 years ago, on April 15, 1865.  Yesterday, Johnny L. Bone, an artist friend, sent my wife and me an original oil portrait of President Lincoln.  Apparently, Sugar had told Johnny about my interest and collection.

Lincoln

Many years ago, I had an internship in the Washington D.C. office of Senator Mark O. Hatfield.  Senator Hatfield, who had taught Political Science at a university before entering politics himself, was a Lincoln scholar.  He had a good collection of books about Abraham Lincoln.  While I lived in D.C., I read several biographies of Lincoln and started my own modest collection.  I visited the Lincoln Memorial and Ford’s Theater and the house across the street where the president died.  In the basement of Ford’s Theater is a gift shop.  I bought a poster of a photograph of President Lincoln.  I had it framed.  It has been in my law office for my entire career.  Somewhere along the way, I purchased a model of Lincoln’s head, said to be by the artist who sculpted the statue in the Lincoln Memorial.  The stone came from Colorado, I was told.  That story by the antique dealer could not be authenticated or the price would have been more.  Nevertheless, I like to think that I have a head of Lincoln done for practice on the monument.  Now I am proud to have the original oil portrait by Johnny L. Bone.

Thanks, Johnny!

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Lincoln Portrait

  1. Reblogged this on The Art Advocate Online and commented:
    Thank you, artist, Johnny Bone!

  2. Wow. It’s incredible that you have such a piece of sculpture. Do you display it in your office, or your home? And what an experience you must have had interning for Mark Hatfield!

    Thank you for sharing this pic with us.

    • For many years the sculpture was in my office, but presently it is in our home — in my study there. I will try to post a photo of it. It is a life size head. It is like bronze over a plaster, hollow inside. It is hard to describe in words. It was a great experience in Senator Hatfield’s office. He was a fine man. Many interns for other senators were stuck in the mailroom, but Senator Hatfield actually called me into his office and asked if I was getting to do enough. He took me with him to the Senate floor one day. I got to have lunch in the Senate dining room, where he introduced me to many other Senators. It was great. I got to attend the staff Christmas party at his home in Maryland. The next summer I went to Oregon for his re-election campaign and got to visit his home there and attend a campaign function. He is a hero of mine.

  3. Ahhh… Honest Abe, eh? Considering what he went through on a personal level, he was indeed of strong character if he didn’t suffer from depression. But the term Honest Abe always comes to mind. What do you think of the dishonesty running amok in certain “high profile” public officials? What would he think?

    I’m glad for the painting!

    (ps Sorry the head couldn’t be authenticated, sir. Maybe there’s some DNA stuck in there…but somehow, having a head in my home staring back at me… but a bust of Charlotte McKinney is whole ‘nother story. 🙂 )

Leave a Reply

