Shootin' the Breeze

and random targets

Another Bat Bites the Dust

antlers

Warning:  If you are a lover of bats, the following post contains disturbing material.

An erratic flight pattern by something crosses the TV screen in the dark room.  We know what it is.  We have had this experience many times before.

I turn on the lights in the room and we try to spot where the creature has landed.

My wife, Sugar, is my spotter.  She tells me to look at the third log from the top, right of the smoke detector.  I grab my trusty Red Ryder BB gun and take aim.  POW!

The winged creature drops to the floor.  The wings close around the body of the deceased.  It is a goner.  Another one bites the dust.

Not everyone shoots BB guns inside one’s home.  But I ain’t everyone.  I am a special marksman living in a log home with high ceilings.

We like bats flying around outside, presumably eating bugs.  But inside?  That’s where I draw the line.

Single Post Navigation

13 thoughts on “Another Bat Bites the Dust

  1. That was a quick way to get rid of it, wasn’t it? Well, you got rid of it…so well done 🙂

  2. Grinning from ear to ear as I can almost see the action happening through your words here in your post.. I too once got out my b.b. gun and tried to end a mouse in my bedroom in Florida, but the results were not as grand as yours… The pellet hit the baseboard of my bedroom and fired back at me! Mouse scored ~ I failed… loved this post and the memories…

    Take care, Laura

    • I am glad you liked the story and took the time to write. As for mice, I recommend traps.

      • Yes so did the man I hired to get rid of the family of mice living in my attic… they would all come out and walk down the hallway and look at us then run back into my room.. we never did see where they were coming from but could hear them at night walking around.. He did a good job getting rid of them for me.. thank heavens he came back to cart them away..

        Take care, Laura

  3. The BB gun sounds like a good solution for a stationary bat. A forehand smash with a badminton racket will do the trick if the bat is flying.

  4. Did you leave out the part about having to reload after missing the target more than a few times, sir? LOL

  5. I did not reload. I did not miss. They call me Deadeye.

  6. Ha…the bats inside your house don’t survive long. We have a cabin with high ceilings and we don’t get bats but we do get wasps and flies way up high around the windows. My son has a salt gun. It shoots salt in a fairly narrow spray pattern and it’s surprisingly effective. The downside is that you do have to sweep up a little salt after the hunting events…but it’s quite gratifying to blast those suckers!

    • Your son is a man after m;y own heart. My own mother did not allow me to even throw balls in the house, so I had to resort to throwing socks into the laundry basket. After such a repressed childhood, I appreciate the opportunity to shoot a BB gun in the house. Your son is lucky to have a mother like you. I am considering reporting my own mother to the county Social Services.

      • I almost got reported a couple of years ago. My boys sat me down and explained that I was going to ruin their entire childhood if I didn’t let them have a dog! I saw the error of my ways and we now have two wild, funny huskies. That was a narrow miss for me!

      • Your sons were both legally and psychologically correct so I am glad you did the right thing in the best interests of the children. Social Services has no tolerance for mothers who deny Husky puppies to young people during their formative years. Check the Children’s Code in your state.

Leave a Reply

