Shootin' the Breeze

and random targets

That’s What I Had in Mind

When I said I do, I meant that I will ’til the end of all time
Be faithful and true, devoted to you
That’s what I had in mind when I said I do    — Clint Black

When I said “I do,” I fully expected our marriage to last for our lifetimes, but I did not foresee what all our shared lives would entail.  Newlyweds are told that marriages have ups and downs.  However, that is hypothetical until actual events become those ups and downs.

I have been surprised many times over the years.  The biggest surprise is that someone as wonderful as my wife would accept my marriage proposal.  If you knew her and knew me, you would be surprised too.  You would say, as another lawyer told me after meeting her, “Man, you sure married above your station in life!”  I agreed.

On the surface, you would notice that my wife, Miss Sugar, is physically beautiful.  That is not merely my biased opinion.  It is an objective finding in that she was actually a beauty queen in Texas, a state known for beautiful women, and had a long modeling career, including being a swimsuit model.  No brag, just fact.  I am a lucky man!

But as alluring as that was for me to pursue her, after I got to know her, I learned that she is a better person than me by almost every measurement.  (I say almost because I can bench press more weight than she can.)  She is kind, generous, smart, and musically talented both as a pianist and singer.  She is a great artist and teacher.  And mother.  And wife.  I am not being modest or humble when I say that I don’t deserve her.  I truly do not deserve her.  Love can be mystifying.

She is fiercely loyal to me.  She has proven over the years that she actually loves me.  It is a wonder.  Miss Texas agreed to go out with me, agreed to marry me, and did indeed marry me.  That is amazing.

What is not amazing is that I love her.  I’d be crazy not to.

I am still crazy about Sugar after all these years.

Today is our anniversary.  We just listened to a song by Clint Black that is special to us.  I encourage you to read the lyrics and maybe look it up on YouTube.  It is called When I Said I Do.Modeling

Single Post Navigation

7 thoughts on “That’s What I Had in Mind

  1. Where is the “love” button!!!

    Happy anniversary to you both!!

  2. Happy anniversary to you, and to her. You are indeed a very lucky man. 🙂

  3. bjthoms on said:

    A little belated HAPPY ANNIVERSARY to you both! May the love and dedication continue until the end of time! Love to you and yours!

  4. Thanks, Jeannie. We had a nice day on Friday and then yesterday picked up our new puppy. Not much sleep last night.

Leave a Reply

